Lessons of Parenting

Standard

Today was a day where I learned a few lessons in parenting.

Lesson 1: Sometimes you must abandon the To Do List.

Sunday ‘s To Do List:  1. Dance Tryouts  2.  Couponing  3.  Grocery Shopping  4.  Clean Bathrooms  5.  Fold and Put Away Laundry  6.  Grade Papers  7.  Lesson Plans

Following dance tryouts, I decided to abandon the to do list.  Pulling through a local restaurant, I picked up lunch and headed to the park.  The Princess was thrilled!  I am so glad I abandoned the to do list for time passes so quickly and soon she won’t want to spend the afternoon with her mama at the park.

                                Lesson 2:  Knowing when to rescue and when to step back.

     I am a mothering rescuer.  But at the same time I realize the importance of instilling in the Princess a sense of independence and the ability to problem solve.  Today was one of those days when I had to step back-not to far- and allow her to problem solve on her own.  The park we visited was full of trees and she wanted to climb.  She got up this tree…fear overtook her and she wanted to get down.  She wanted me to get her down.  My first instinct was to hold up my arms and wrap them around her bringing her safely to the ground.  I decided instead to coach her through her fear and getting down.  I said to her, “You are okay.  I am right here.  You can do this.”  She calmed and then I said, ” What do you need to do?”  This continued for about 15 minutes when she finally had her feet planted on the ground.  She was so proud of herself!

  Lesson 3:  if your child shows an interest in something, let them try.

I was taking tons of photos and the Princess asked if she could use the camera to take pictures.  My first thought was NO WAY, this camera is expensive!  But then I thought she is showing an interest in something I a m doing and I should let her try.  So I turned over the camera to her – being sure the strap was securely around her neck.  This was a picture of her shirt she wanted to take by holding the camera in front of her and snapping the button.

When I got home and downloaded her pictures, 2 thoughts ran through my mind.  The 1st:  How amazing to see the world through her eyes.  The 2nd:  When I was little, I use to tag behind my father(the photographer) taking tons of pictures.  The amount of money he spent developing my silly pictures was outrageous but helped me become the photographer I am today.  I hope to do the same with the Princess.

Not my best time, but I did a 3.1 miles sunset jog/walk of intervals 90 seconds walking and 60 seconds jogging in 45:03.  Although today, I am just happy I did it because I felt I wanted to be lazy!

4 responses »

  1. Her shirt was a hand me down which makes my love it even more. Tracking my jog/walks helps me see the progress I have made as well as motivates me when I begin to slack off. Thanks for reading my thoughts and commenting.

Leave a Reply

