Why I do what I do

Standard

For those of you who know me well…go ahead and sit down before you read this.  Yesterday, I changed and jogged/walk a section of Bayshore Blvd.  Although it was mid day and the sun was beating down, I loved the feeling.  Took me a little longer but did my 2 miles in 30:45 keeping with the same 2 minute walk, 1 minute jog intervals.

The evening was rather eventful as I joined 2 girlfriends to celebrate the one friend’s 40th birthday.  As we entered the restaurant, a nice looking young man dressed in a tuxedo appears on my left.  It is one of my former students who I taught in 2nd and 3rd grade.  He is dressed to attend prom.  He gives me a big hug, introduces me to his date, and we catch up on what is happening in his life.  Again, before he leaves the restaurant he come to my table to hug and tell me goodnight.

And that is why I do what I do! It is why I stay up late and get up early to do things for my students, it is why I cart home journals, homework and projects to give feedback, it is why I attend their functions, it is why I play freeze tag, it is why I do so many things that I often feel go unnoticed.  Because in the end the ones that matter the most do notice, appreciate and remember.

One response »

Leave a comment