Our Future

Standard

Since the very kind doctor I saw yesterday benched me until Friday you all are stuck with my crazy thoughts instead of my daily progress.

Today’s thoughts come as a result of a meeting I attended after school.

How many times do we turn a child’s world upside down by removing them from a home for their safety and then reuniting them with those same parents. I understand people make mistakes and that sometimes they can learn from those mistakes and change.

But when does the best interest of the child come into play?  Do we put the child through this cycle of removal and reunification 2, 3, or even more times?

What effect does this have on a child?  Who will stand up and speak out for these children?

These children are our future…we are responsible to ensure that these children succeed in all areas of their lives: social, academic, behavioral, spiritual, etc.  If we don’t ensure them the best during their childhood, how can we expect them to be able to lead in the future.

I can’t help but wonder if there is more that I could do.

 

Leave a Reply

