Outspoken

Standard

As I child, I was very outspoken.  If I had something to say I would say it no matter what the consequence.  In fact when I was in middle school, one Wednesday morning in chapel I displayed my talent for speaking out. The pastor stated something from the pulpit that I knew was not Biblically correct.  I mean come on, I was in church every time the doors were open since I was born and spend my entire educational life in private Christian schools…I know my stuff.  Because it was school chapel and many students didn’t come from such a grounded background, he always allowed us to raise our hands and ask questions.  Towering at almost 7 feet tall, he could be quite intimidating….but it didn’t faze me.  When he called my name, I spouted out, ” Can you show me where in the Bible it says that?”  Which I then followed with verse after verse that said contrary to what he had said.  I don’t remember mush else about what happened other than I had to meet with him and my parents had to meet with him.

Fast forward to now…I still consider myself to be an outspoken person.  I will fight to the death to make sure that not only my students, but all children are pushed to their greatest potential, given what they need as individuals, and in a safe environment.

But I have also learned something about myself…I am not confrontational and have a need to maintain peace.  Even though I may feel strongly about something if I know it may upset someone’s apple cart, I will refrain from speaking it.  I realize the irony in this fact especially as one who is seeking to fulfill an administrative position.

I know it certainly must be better to tell someone rather than keep it bottled up but also remember the old saying, ” You catch more flies with honey than with vinegar.”

Here is to finding part of the young girl I use to be and mixing her with the lady I am now to find the perfect balance.

2 responses »

  1. LOVE this post…and I was so intimidated by Pastor Welch!!! He scared me! Not sure if I was there for that chapel but man I wish I was and could remember it!!

  2. I do remember that one and yes you were very outspoken then. But with maturity comes the ability to hold your tongue at the right times and it sounds like you have found that. Congratulations

Leave a Reply

