Awakening

Standard

41 days ago I turned 33 and begin to reflect on the journey I have taken in life thus far and where it is headed.  From the outside looking in I have a great life that I should be envious of :  a husband of 12 years, a 6-year-old princess, a career of 10 years, a house…and a partridge in a pear tree.  Get the picture?

It is easy to get lost in all the greatness that I have.   Wanting to do something for me( I know it sounds selfish)….I began debating what I should do.  Go to law school and fulfill my life long dream of getting my law degree?  Take cooking classes and continue to grow the waist of myself and my friends?  Run a half marathon?  Now anyone who knows me is most likely laughing their head off at that one, because the only thing I run for is a good sale at the mall.

But wanting to take on the challenge, I have chosen the third.  My goal is that by the time my little princess turns 7 next March, I will have run a half marathon.  If I do it before that great!!!!!!

So why the blog? Two reasons:  one to track my journey on this new adventure and two to find readers who through reading my blog will find the motivation to do something for themselves and share their experiences with me in turn encouraging me to continue on my adventure.

My first song to download to my playlist for running is:

The Climb by Miley Cyrus
I can almost see it.
That dream I’m dreaming, but
There’s a voice inside my head saying
You’ll never reach it
Every step I’m takin’
Every move I make
Feels lost with no direction,
My faith is shakin’
But I gotta keep tryin’
Gotta keep my head held highThere’s always gonna be another mountain
I’m always gonna wanna make it move
Always gonna be an uphill battle
Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose
Ain’t about how fast I get there
Ain’t about what’s waitin’ on the other side
It’s the climb

The struggles I’m facing
The chances I’m taking
Sometimes might knock me down, but
No I’m not breaking
I may not know it, but
These are the moments that
I’m gonna remember most
I’ve just gotta keep goin’, and
I gotta be strong
Just keep pushing on, cause

There’s always gonna be another mountain
I’m always gonna wanna make it move
Always gonna be an uphill battle
Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose
Ain’t about how fast I get there
Ain’t about what’s waitin’ on the other side
It’s the climb

There’s always gonna be another mountain
I’m always gonna wanna make it move
Always gonna be an uphill battle
Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose
Ain’t about how fast I get there
Ain’t about what’s waitin’ on the other side
It’s the climb

Keep on movin’
Keep climbin’
Keep the faith baby
It’s all about, it’s all about
The climb
Keep the faith, keep your faith, woah

5 responses »

  1. So proud of you Candy. This will be an amazing adventure and something you will cherish. The moment you cross the finish line of your first half marathon will be awesome….and you’ll probably cry. I still tear up every time I finish a race. If you need anything during this time, let me know. I am happy to run with you or offer any suggestions or advice you need/want. I will say right off the bat, shoes are VERY important. Go get fitted! Fitniche does it for free and it will really make a difference in your running experience to have a proper fittin shoe…you can always just find out what shoe works best for your gate now and purchase them later if need me. Good luck girl!!

Leave a Reply

